My Setup

13 Feb

Inspired by my British twitter friends, I applied to be able to adopt “Battery Hens.” Hens that have been cooped in a cage their whole life & need an opportunity to live the good life. I went through the application process & then they asked for pictures of my setup. I’ve been so nervous to send pics to them, afraid that I won’t pass. What if they don’t think I am good enough. My yard isn’t perfect by any stretch of the imagination! There are crazy blackberry vines everywhere, a random woodpile, a bathtub I keep saying that I am going to make yard art out of one day…What if they don’t like me?!!

Finally, I got up the nerve today to take a few pics & send their way. My chickens like their home so if it is good enough for them…

Anyway, I have 3 coops. What we call “the big coop,” “the baby coop,” & “the sick coop,” although I am still trying to talk the 5 hens that came with the sick coop to move out to the big one. They are not convinced. The cluckers also have free range of the yard, which has actually worked out pretty well for them, but not so much for ANYTHING green.

I SO hope they like me! Wish my chickens could be references. 🙂

2 Responses to “My Setup”

  1. Brenda March 30, 2011 at 5:00 am #

    Oh I can’t WAIT to come see everything tomorrow!! I have so many things I need to ask you… for instance, do chickens have bedtimes? Do I have to tuck them in every night? What if we’re out?

    • stacyreno March 30, 2011 at 11:05 am #

      Yay! Can’t wait for you to come over as well…however, given the weather, it is a big muddy mess!

Leave a Reply

