The 3 Amigos

27 Feb

Last summer my daughter REALLY wanted a blue orpington chick. We found an awesome lady up in N. GA who had some new babies, so as we do, we took a road trip up there to pick up some new chicks! It seems like everywhere we go is far for chickens, but we really enjoy meeting the nice folks who share our love of poultry & checking out their farms.

The farmer couldn’t tell if they were male or female so we took three thinking “surely, one of them will be a hen!” Famous, last words. As they all started growing saddle feathers & looking for love, we quickly realized that we had 3 brothers. They are all great friends & they are truly beautiful. However, while I have awesome understanding neighbors, those 3 roos + the 1 Easter Egger roo I hope to keep make quite a quartet at 6AM. I thought it would be easy to place these beautiful birds, but it has proved to be quite challenging. I have stipulated on all the ads “they must not be for dinner.” I couldn’t bear the thought of them ending up on someone’s table. And, so the search continues to find these guys a flock they can call their own. ..Blue Orpington Rooster

2 Responses to “The 3 Amigos”

  1. Julie March 29, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Yikes! I want to get a few chickens but I’m afraid I will end up with a rooster and won’t know what to do with it. Like you, I could NEVER eat it or let it be eaten! I hope you find a new home for them soon.

    • stacyreno March 29, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

      I ended up keeping 2! I asked all the neighbors & some actually said they would be disappointed if I got rid of them! Of course, not sure they were thinking that when it was crowing at 1 AM! Also, I am hatching eggs (due in 5 days) from my own chickens I am SO excited! But, don’t worry, you can usually always find a home from them…even from folks who won’t eat them. 😉

Leave a Reply

