Crazy Duck Lady!

9 Mar

No, I promise I will not be Crazy Duck Lady. But they are SOOOO cute! How could I resist?!! My girls went nuts because I have always said “no ducks. they are messy.” But they are SOOOO cute! And boy, are they messy! Woke up this morning to a wet, icky mess. But they are SOOO cute!

2 Responses to “Crazy Duck Lady!”

  1. Josh March 22, 2011 at 2:51 am #

    Hey! My name is josh. I was at your neighboor ross’s place and he just linked me up to your website. I live in grant park and also have chickens. while at ross’s i climbed up on his shed to look at your birds. I really enjoyed gobbling back and forth with your white turkey!
    Do you have any advice on integrating birds into the flock? I have a Barred rock that MY R.I Reds will not leave alone. It has been a few weeks, and they stillpull out feathers on her head. Have a nice day!

    • stacyreno March 24, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      Josh! Nice to meet you!
      It is hard to bring just one newbie into the flock. They always say, you should at least get 2. Of course, that is one reason I have so many! Usually when I bring newbies in, I put them in a coop or enclosure that everyone can see each other, but not get to each other. Usually after about a week or so, you can let them out & everyone kind of accepts them as if they have been there the whole time. Another way is to take the most dominate one of your RIRs & put that one in an enclosure with the Barred Rock. Leave them together for a week or so & that breaks up the “clique.” Good luck! Let me know what happens!

Leave a Reply

